Fort Chipewyan, Alberta (June 15, 2022) – After yesterday’s election of new Council Members at McMurray Métis Local 1935, the Fort Chipewyan Métis Association Local 125 (FCMA) board issued the following statement:

“Today the elders, youth, and other members of the community let their voices be heard. We are happy to formally congratulate the newly elected officials and welcome those returning.”

New Council Members include Doug Golosky (Secretary), Velma Jelly (Treasurer), Peter Hansen (President), and Cheryl Golosky (Director). Returning members include Kelly Myers (Vice President) and Gary Boostrom (Director), leaving one Director position open which will be appointed by the Local Council and serve until the next Annual General Meeting.

FCMA President Kendrick Cardinal issued the following statement:

“We extend our hope for a working relationship that will continue to advance the prosperity between us. Through close collaboration with McMurray Métis and Indigenous organizations across Alberta, we will continue to safeguard our land as well as the physical, emotional, and spiritual wellness of our people.”